Press Releases

Teamsters Ratify Agreement at US Foods


(BLAINE, Minn.) – Teamsters Local 120 members at US Foods in Plymouth, Minn., ratified a new four-year collective bargaining agreement on Sunday that raises the bar for food service agreements across the nation. The new agreement includes significant annual raises, maintenance of benefits and up to $10 per week each year into a health reimbursement account for more than 300 drivers and inside facility workers.

The battle with US Foods began when the company attempted to merge with Sysco over two years ago. That merger was opposed by the Teamsters and subsequently blocked by the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and Teamsters Warehouse Division. Since the FTC ruling, US Foods unsuccessfully attempted to ram concessions into many Teamster contracts.

“Last summer, our members honored picket line extensions from Teamsters Local 355 in Baltimore. That showed the company the strength of our bargaining unit, and the strength of the Teamsters nationwide. It was on the company’s mind in the closing hours of these negotiations,” said Rich Fredrick, Local 120 Business Agent and former US Foods Driver.

“This is the best contract we’ve ever negotiated in Plymouth, and the effort that the International Union put into taking a stand against this company over the past two years definitely helped,” said Bill Wedebrand, Secretary-Treasurer of Local 120, who also came out of US Foods.

“I could not be more proud of our US Foods members, negotiating committee, Business Agent Rich Fredrick, and our International Union. This is a great agreement that really shows what can be done when Teamsters stand together,” said Tom Erickson, President of Local 120.

After nearly two years of contract disputes with US Foods across the nation, this agreement, along with others negotiated recently, demonstrates what can be achieved when Teamsters stick together and stand strong.

Founded in 1903, the International Brotherhood of Teamsters represents 1.4 million hardworking men and women throughout the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico.