Headline News

D.C. Taxi Drivers Elected to Association Leadership Positions


On Saturday, Jan. 25, seven D.C. taxi drivers were nominiated and elected by acclamation to the Leadership Council of the Washington, D.C. Taxi Operators Association during the Association’s first-ever nominations meeting. Because none of the positions are contested, there will not be an election. This is a major first step for the Association, which is affiliated with Teamsters Local 922 and is helping to make drivers’ voices heard in Washington, D.C.

The drivers will begin their terms on the Leadership Council on March 1, 2014, and the terms run through Feb. 28, 2015.

The following drivers were elected to the Leadership Council:

1) Addis Gebreselassi (current member of Interim Steering Team)

2) Mohamud Samantar (current member of Interim Steering Team)

3) Ziena Abraha

4) Eartha Clark

5) Omoshola Kintunde

6) Nessibu Bezabeh

7) Kolawole Akinadewo