Hoffa Completes Pledge to Return Control of Union to Members


Feb. 17, 2020, marked the end of the transition period of government oversight established by the Final Order negotiated in 2015, bringing closure to more than 30 years of government involvement in the union’s internal affairs.

Five years ago, Chief Judge Loretta Preska of the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York approved an agreement that ended more than 25 years of government oversight of the Teamsters Union. The agreement resulted in dismissal of the Civil RICO case that was brought by the government in 1988, ended the Consent Decree which had been
in effect since 1989, and replaced it with a Final Order which allowed for the government’s involvement in the internal affairs of the union to be phased out over a five-year transition period which ended
in February.

“This is a historic day for the Teamsters,” said James P. Hoffa, Teamsters General President. “The union has been returned to the members and will operate without government involvement for the first time since 1989. This is a promise I made on day one and am proud to have accomplished for our great union. All members can be proud that the Teamsters Union’s commitment to democratic principles and to the highest of ethical standards stands as an example for the labor movement and other members of our community.”

As part of the Final Order, the union agreed to establish and maintain effective and independent supervision of the IBT International Union Officer and Convention Delegate elections and an effective and independent internal disciplinary mechanism. This ensures that the union’s commitments in its Constitution to democratic elections for its leaders and for a union free from corruption can be fulfilled.

For the first time since 1991, the union has now appointed the Election Supervisor and Appeals Master for the 2021 International Union Officer elections without the need for the government’s agreement or consent. The union will also now have the right to appoint, again without government agreement or consent, its Independent Disciplinary Officers when their terms of office expire on February 17, 2021.